Alopecia Areata 

We recently started noticing Ariana’s hair thinning and some light fall out. Nothing raised any red flags until patches of hair started to fall out and not grow back. She now has about maybe 4-5 bald spots on her head. 

Her pediatrician thought it would be a good idea to get her thyroid tested as that could also cause hair loss. So we had her blood tested to check her thyroid and some other things & everything came back normal. Actually pretty perfect. 

Once everything on her pediatricians list was checked off and still no answers as to why the hair loss/bald spots. Ariana was referred to a Dermotologist. & finally after 2 months of waiting for tests results, blood work to be done & to actually get into the Dermotologist office (busy office & scheduling was a nightmare) we have answers. 

On Tuesday Ariana was diagnosed with Alopecia Areata


Alopecia areata is a condition of hair loss caused by the body’s immune system attacking the hair follicles. 

I already had a feeling that this was what was happening with Ariana. I don’t really have any answers to what extent this will go to. We don’t know if it will progress and if she will lose more hair. We don’t know if she’ll lose all of her hair. It might grow back or it might not. 

The Dermotologist basically told me that everyone is different and that he does not have many answers for us. He prescribed some medication for Ariana. An ointment that I rub on her patches every night after bath time. & even then he told me not to get too excited that this might help or might not. That we wouldn’t really know if it’s working until we see progress which can take up to a year. 

& if I’m being 100% honest with you guys I am a tiny bit sad. I’m sad that Ariana is going to have to deal with more. Just more of everything. More stares. More pity. More judgments.

But at the end of the day Ariana is beautiful with or without hair this I know. I know that this is just something else she’s going to rock because that’s just who she is. I know she will be okay. & I know that this is just not a big deal. Because it is just hair. & she will be okay if it grows back or doesn’t. 

Hair is just hair & Ariana will always be Ariana with or without it.